21st International Conference on
Analytical & Stochastic Modelling Techniques & Applications

Methods of analytical and stochastic modelling are widely used in engineering to assess and design various complex systems, like computer and communication networks, manufacturing systems. The ASMTA conference is a main forum for advancing these techniques and their applications and aims to bring together researchers of academia and industry to discuss the latest developments in analytical, numerical and simulation algorithms for stochastic systems, including Markov processes, queueing networks, stochastic Petri nets, process algebras, game theory, etc. The conference is co-sponsored by the IEEE UK-RI Computer Chapter and by ECMS - The European Council for Modelling and Simulation.

The proceedings of ASMTA 2014 will be published as Springer Verlag Lecture Notes in Computer Science (LNCS) series (approved).

Scope & topics

The conference is seeking contributions on performance analysis techniques and algorithms from areas including (but not restricted to):

  • Markov Processes
  • Queueing Systems and Networks
  • Branching Processes and Epidemic Models
  • Game Theory and Stochastic Games
  • Reliability Theory
  • (Computationally Intensive) Statistical Methods
  • Stochastic Control, Decision Processes and Optimisation
  • Stochastic Geometry
  • Stochastic Process Algebras and Petri Nets
  • Rare Events and Stochastic Simulation
  • Approximations, Bounds and Limits of Stochastic Models

Envisaged applications encompass the following areas:

  • Complex Systems
  • Computer and Information Systems
  • Workflow Management Systems
  • Communication Systems and Networks
  • Wireless and Mobile Systems and Networks
  • Peer-to-Peer Applications and Services
  • Embedded Systems and Sensor Networks
  • Workload Modelling and Characterisation
  • Road traffic and Transportation
  • Social Networks
  • Measurements and Hybrid Techniques
  • Modelling of Virtualisation
  • Energy-Aware Optimisation
  • Stochastic Modelling for Systems Biology
  • Biologically Inspired Network Design

We also welcome contributions describing new performance analysis tools such as:

  • Modelling and Specification Languages
  • Graphical and Textual Modelling Tools
  • Analytical Solvers, Graphical Presentation Tools

Paper submission

Full papers reporting original and unpublished research results on ASMTA topics are solicited. Submissions should not be under consideration for publication elsewhere while being evaluated for this conference.

The proceedings will be published in the Springer Verlag Lecture Notes in Computer Science (LNCS) series. Submissions may already be prepared in LNCS format and must not exceed 15 pages, including figures, tables and references; see the information for authors on Springer's web site for formatting instructions:
Please clearly indicate the corresponding author.

The paper submission for ASMTA 2014 will only be accepted through the easychair Paper Submission System: https://www.easychair.org/conferences/?conf=asmta2014.

Only papers in PDF will be accepted for reviewing. Submissions as e-mail attachment will not be accepted.

Consistent with standard practice, each submitted paper will receive rigorous peer reviewing. Papers will be selected based on their originality, timeliness, significance, relevance, and clarity of presentation. Selection will be based on full papers.

Submission implies the willingness of at least one of the authors to register and present the paper, if accepted. All accepted papers in the conference are expected to be presented and will be included in the conference proceedings.

Important Dates:

Paper submission deadline: 10 March 2014
Notification: 11 April 2014
Final manuscript submission: 21 April 2014
Conference dates: 30 June - 2 July 2014

Organising committee:

General chair: Gábor Horváth
(ghorvath [at] hit [.] bme [.] hu)
TPC chairs: Bruno Sericola and Miklós Telek

Technical Programme Committee

Marco Gribaudo (Politecnico di Milano)
Christel Baier (Technical University of Dresden)
Yezekael Hayel (LIA / University of Avignon)
Lasse Leskelä (Helsinki University of Technology)
Jean-Michel Fourneau (Universite de Versailles St Quentin)
Andras Horvath (University of Turin)
Renato Lo Cigno (University of Trento)
Helen Karatza (Aristotle University of Thessaloniki)
Simonetta Balsamo (Dipartimento di Informatica Università Ca' Foscari di Venezia)
Benny Van Houdt (University of Antwerp)
Alexander Zeifman (Vologda State Pedagogical University)
Verena Wolf (Saarland University)
Tuan Phung-Duc (Tokyo Institute of Technology)
Janos Sztrik (Debrecen University)
Marco Scarpa (University of Messina - Department of Mathematics)
Jonatha Anselmi (BCAM - Basque Center for Applied Mathematics)
Sabine Wittevrongel (Ghent University)
Nigel Thomas (Newcastle University)
Kurt Tutschku (Blekinge Institute of Technology (BTH))
Yoni Nazarathy (University of Queensland)
Dieter Fiems (Ghent University)
Antonis Economou (University of Athens, Department of Mathematics, Section of Statistics and OR)
Jacques Resing (Eindhoven University of Technology)
Balakrishna J. Prabhu (LAAS-CNRS)
Jose Nino-Mora (Carlos III University of Madrid)
Sergey Andreev (Tampere University of Technology)
Hind Castel-Taleb (Telecom SudPAris)
Dietmar Tutsch (University of Wuppertal)
William Knottenbelt (Imperial College London)
Andrea Marin (University of Venice)
Marie-Ange Remiche (University of Namur)
Neil Walton (University of Amsterdam)
Katinka Wolter (Freie Universitaet zu Berlin)

Steering committee

Khalid Al-Begain (chair)
Dieter Fiems (secretary)
Simonetta Balsamo
Herwig Bruneel
Alexander Dudin
Jean Michel Fourneau
Peter Harrison
Miklos Telek
Jean-Marc Vincent